Connect with us

Media

MSNBC Host Complains of Conversation Around ‘Opinions of White Folks’ Surrounding Will Smith Slap

Published

on

MSNBC Host Tiffany Cross has opinions about Will Smith slapping comedian Chris Rock in the face, but doesn’t believe white people get that privilege. Cross, host of The “Cross Connection,” said that although she is sick of discussing the Will Smith saga, white people should “sit this one out.”

Panelist TheGrio columnist Michael Harriot said the slap was “about how Black people relate to each other.” He continued, “it’s hard to explain to a White person what’s the difference between an open-handed slap and a punch is, because they consider it all violent. It’s hard to explain that everyone, really, has a certain threshold for which they will react in a certain way- whether it is say something to their mother, their sister.”

Cross added there’s a “commonality” amongst Black Americans regarding the Oscars slap. She then went into a detailed example as to how one would be allowed to react if they went into a “white person’s home” and the mother “hauled off and slapped the father.”

“I will try to put this in context for our White fellow countrymen as best I can,” Cross said. “In really, truly Black America, there’s a commonality amongst us all. If we went to a White person’s home, and it was their family dinner, and we were sitting at the table, and the mother hauled off and slapped the father and everybody at the table has an opinion.”

She explained, “If I weigh in as the guest in this home and say, ‘Yeah, you guys are terrible,’ Everybody’s like ‘I’m sorry. When did you get an opinion? This is our family table.’ That’s what this moment felt like for many of us. And there is a nuance that happened.”

Though Cross condemned Smith’s actions calling him a “bully” she reemphasized the conversation should not revolve around the opinions of White people. “I want to be really clear, while we talk about family talk. I think it is utterly ridiculous to center this conversation in the opinions of White folks. This is just about what happened there. The jumping off point should not be what might the White people think about it. It is just this moment between those two men. I thought it was uncalled for,” Cross said.

Continue Reading
11 Comments

11 Comments

  1. katherine ayers

    April 4, 2022 at 9:09 am

    “When did you get to voice an opinion?” Such negativity is so typical of Tiff and Joy. MSNBC has stopped on its journey to greatness with these two women on its staff. You need to step up the game and let them go seethe in their corners.

  2. Mike

    April 4, 2022 at 12:09 pm

    TIFFANY CROSS SHOULD KEEP HER BIG RACIST MOUTH SHUT
    wHO THEHELL IS SHE TOTELL WHITE FOLKS TO SIT YHIS ONE OUT? TIFFANY IStHE PROBLEM TODAY SPREADING RACISM AND BIGOTRY.

  3. Lyle Emmons

    April 4, 2022 at 12:41 pm

    Wow. Seems like a VERY racist comment.

  4. Mike

    April 4, 2022 at 12:45 pm

    Tiffany Cross you are a racist and a bigot. YOU is what’s wrong with America.

  5. teresa

    April 5, 2022 at 12:14 pm

    an ugly hater coming from an ugly broad. whites have just as much right to comment than anyone else. what whites are saying is if it were a white person who slapped a black person holy hell would break lose. lady you wear a wig that resembles a white hairstyle so shut your fat lip

  6. Kristy Broadstone

    April 5, 2022 at 12:26 pm

    The Oscars is an inernationally televised program. It is not owned and televised for the personal gratification and use of black people alone.

    I, as a white person, NEVER, think this way. Bad behavior is BAD behavior.

    If this happens in real time, in front of me, I get to react and I get an opinion.

    Stop separating us by race…THAT IS RACIST.

    None of these people are role models for me. Why? Not because they are BLACK. I don’t care. I just would never act the way they do. Get over yourselves. You need GOD.

    Stop this now. Also, the main issue should be STOP THE VIOLENT BEHAVIOR

  7. Debra Leisner

    April 5, 2022 at 1:15 pm

    Since when does “black America” speak for “white America”? Aren’t we all allowed to have our own opinions about things that happen around us? Don’t tell us we don’t have a right to our opinions about something happened that the whole world could see. It’s people like you who are making everything racial when it really isn’t it!! This is about one man slapping another in front of the whole world – nothing else!!!

  8. Jim Morris

    April 5, 2022 at 2:12 pm

    A Black commentator talking about the “Will Smith slap heard around the world” immediately plays “the race card”. It’s all about “you White folks”. Does she have an opinion of what Hispanics or Asian-Americans might think? Is says in essence to Blacks there’s a difference between a slap and a bunch. It is apparently the way disagreement are settled in the ‘hood’. So apparently what is violent behavior to a White person is going to be different than to what is violent behavior to a Black person? Personally, I find that hard to believe. Especially for Black people who have lived the ‘high life’ for decades and are worth millions of dollars. They don’t live in the ‘hood’ and their families are raised to know right from wrong.

  9. gail mayers

    April 5, 2022 at 3:12 pm

    Where I come from a slap is a slap no matter what color you are.

  10. brother daniel

    April 6, 2022 at 11:06 am

    who cares what this bozo thinks

  11. Stacy

    April 12, 2022 at 11:12 pm

    Awww, another spiteful black female full of resentment for the white race takin up a time slot at MSNBC….. what a pathetic poser trying to be just like that piece of shit racist Joy Reid. Let’s be very clear here, you are not qualified to tell anyone what they can or cannot discuss… You and your constant racist white resentments make you appear small-minded, pathetically immature and extremely ignorant. Too bad they can’t hire actual professionals on that so called network.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Leo's Hot List